Document Actions

INRS’ Rosei Receives 2011 Rutherford Memorial Medal in Chemistry

by Editor1 last modified September 13, 2011 - 14:28

Dr. Federico Rosei, professor and director of the INRS's Energy, Materials, and Telecommunications Centre, has received the 2011 Rutherford Memorial Medal in Chemistry. The INRS (Institut National de Recherche Scientifique) is one of Canada’s leading research and training universities.

INRS’ Rosei Receives 2011 Rutherford Memorial Medal in Chemistry

Granted by the Royal Society of Canada, the award recognizes outstanding contributions to molecular self-assembly and organic nanoelectonics.

Dr. Rosei has held the Canada Research Chair in Nanostructured Organic and Inorganic Materials since 2003. In that post, Dr. Rosei focuses on the properties of nanostructured materials and how to control their size, shape, composition, stability and positioning when grown. He also focuses on the control of surface polymerization using suitable templates, as well as the development of a dynamic electron microscope to study ultrafast processes at the nanoscale.

Dr. Rosei’s work focuses on the growth of several key areas, including:

Self–assembled semiconductor nanostructures, and their potential application to nanoelectronics and optoelectronics;

Adsorption properties of organic molecules at metal and semiconductor surfaces, for prospective use in molecular electronic devices; and

Properties of nanostructured biocompatible materials, for use in novel implantable devices

Applications of Rosei’s research include nanoelectronic and organic electronic devices. He has extensive experience in fabricating, processing, and characterizing inorganic and organic nanomaterials. Rosei has worked on nanostructured biocompatible materials for applications in tissue regeneration and repair, in particular for orthopedics.

In 2010, Dr. Rosei was made a fellow of the United Kingdom's Institute of Physics and Institute of Nanotechnology.

The Rutherford medals were established in memory of Lord Rutherford of Nelson, a great pioneer in nuclear physics, to recognize outstanding research in any branch of physics and chemistry. Each award is accompanied by a $2,500 cash prize, and preference is given to candidates under age forty in the year of the award.