University of Washington - The Center for Nanotechnology

University of Washington - The Center for Nanotechnology
Type Disciplines
State University Chemistry Engineering Physics
Address Postal Code
422 Bagley Hall
Box 351721
City State / Province
Seattle Washington
E-mail Country
Web Phone
link (206) 685-1701
(206) 685-4434

By virtue of their interdisciplinary nature, rapid advances in nanoscale science and technology can only thrive in a collaborative environment in which faculty and students from different disciplines discuss ideas, work together, and share their expertise.

The Center for Nanotechnology at the University of Washington was created in 1997 to address these changing realities. It brings together faculty members and students from the Colleges of Arts and Sciences, Engineering, Pharmacy, and the School of Medicine. The Center enjoys major financial support from the University of Washington Initiatives Fund (UIF) and National Science Foundation Integrative Graduate Education and Research Traineeship (NSF-IGERT) program.

Director - Fran├žois Baneyx, Ph.D.
Associate Director - Dong Qin, Ph.D.
The Center, directed by Professor Francois Baneyx, was established by a University of Washington’s Initiatives Fund (UIF) award in 1997, and includes the NanoTech User Facility.

Our more than eighty faculty members come from the Departments of Chemistry, Physics, Bioengineering, Chemical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, Biochemistry, Genome Sciences, Physiology and Biophysics, and Microbiology.

Our Ph. D. Program in Nanotechnology is funded from the National Science Foundation's Integrative Graduate Education and Research Traineeship (NSF-IGERT) program. We offer an Optional Ph.D. Program in Nanotechnology, the first of its kind in the nation, providing graduate students with excellent interdisciplinary education experiences in nanoscale science and nanotechnology.
The NanoTech User Facility (NTUF) was established in 1998 to provide the Pacific Northwest nanotechnology community with access to advanced characterization and nanofabrication equipment. In 2004, NTUF expanded its role to the national level by becoming one of 13 nodes in National Nanotechnology Infrastructure Network (NNIN), an NSF sponsored network of 13 universities, whose mission is to establish the infrastructure for the current and future research and education needs in nanoscience and nanotechnology.

NTUF has leading-edge instruments for characterization and fabrication at the micro- and nanoscale. Imaging tools include a Leica inverted fluorescence microscope, a Renishaw inVia Confcal Raman Microscope, an FEI field emission SEM with electron beam lithography capability, a Vecco Nanoscope scanning probe microscope with scanning tunneling microscopy and atomic force microscopy capabilities, and a recently acquired 2-photon Zeiss LSM510 laser scanning confocal microscope. Fabrication tools include soft lithography for rapid prototyping and a Nabity E-Beam Lithography system. NTUF also performs in-house nanotechnology tool development by drawing on faculty research and expertise.

Related Content